APPRISE Governance Structure

Current key members of APPRISE


Professor Sharon Lewin AO

Professor Tania Sorrell

Professor Jodie McVernon

Professor Ross Andrews 

Expert Reference Group

The primary purpose of the Expert Reference Group (ERG) is to give advice and feedback on the APPRISE research program. Members of the ERG are all experts in fields related to APPRISE and assist us in an unpaid capacity.

Professor Bart Currie (Chair), Menzies School of Health Research

Ms Sharon Appleyard, Office of Health Protection, Australian Department of Health

Lieutenant Colonel Alyson Auliff, Senior Scientific Officer/Administrative Commanding Officer, Australian Defence Force Malaria and Infectious Disease Institute

Associate Professor Penny Burns, GP roundtable

Dr Dawn Casey, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation

Ms Jennifer Herz, Biointelect

Professor Ben Howden, Public Health Laboratory Network

Dr Vanessa Johnston, Communicable Diseases Network Australia

Dr Janene Kingston, Animal Disease Response Section, Australian Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Dr Henry Ko, Community representative

Dr Gary Lum AM, Office of Health Protection, Australian Department of Health

Emeritus Professor John Mackenzie, Curtin University

Dr Maria Pinero de Plaza, Community representative

Dr Mark Veitch, Australian Health Protection Principal Committee

Professor Roianne West, Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)

Dr Stephanie Williams, Health Policy Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

APPRISE Secretariat

Dr Miranda Smith, Project officer

Ms Priyanka Pillai, Health Informatics Specialist

Dr Julie Milland, Communications officer

Broad research areas

Clinical research and infection prevention

Professor Steve Webb (co-lead, clinical)

Professor Allen Cheng (co-lead, clinical)

Professor Lyn Gilbert (co-lead, infection prevention)

Professor Tania Sorell

Professor David Paterson

Professor Kristine Macartney

Professor Nigel Stocks

Public health

Professor Jodie McVernon (co-lead)

Professor Ross Andrews (co-lead)

Professor John Kaldor

Professor Soren Alexandersen

Professor David Smith

Professor David Irving

Associate Professor Stephen Lambert

Professor Kristine Macartney

Laboratory research

Professor Sharon Lewin (co-lead)

Professor David Smith (co-lead)

Professor Soren Alexandersen

Professor David Anderson

Professor Michael Catton

Professor Benjamin Howden

Key populations

Professor Ross Andrews (co-lead)

Professor John Kaldor (co-lead)

Professor Adrian Miller

Associate Professor Peter Massey

Cross-cutting themes


Professor Angus Dawson (lead)

Professor Lyn Gilbert


Professor Jodie McVernon (lead)

Education and training

Professor Tania Sorrell (lead)

Partnerships, collaboration and translation

Professor Sharon Lewin (lead)

Other advisory and working groups

Education and training advisory group

Professor Tania Sorrell (chair), APPRISE Education and Training lead

Dr Gillian Scott, APPRISE Education and Training Officer

Dr Phil Britton – Marie Bashir Institute, University of Sydney and National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)

Kristy Crooks – Hunter New England Population Health

Associate Professor Allison Imrie – University of Western Australia and the Centre of Research Excellence in Emerging Infectious Diseases (CREID)

Professor Martyn Kirk – Australian National University and the Centre for Research Excellence, Integrated Systems for Epidemic Response (ISER)

Associate Professor Dianne Stephens – Menzies School of Health Research and HOT NORTH

Professor Nigel Stocks – University of Adelaide

Associate Professor Steven Tong – The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity and HOT NORTH

Dr Jane Williams, Sydney Health Ethics, University of Sydney

Dr Mary Wyer – APPRISE Infection Prevention and Control Researcher, Westmead Institute for Medical Research